Types of muscle tissue

There are three types of muscle tissue. Cardiac muscle, skeletal muscle and smooth muscle.

Muscle type Voluntary or Involuntary Characteristics
Cardiac Involuntary

The muscle found only in the heart. Consists of striated (striped) muscle fibres. Under unconscious control (autonomic nervous system).

Skeletal Voluntary

The muscles attached to bones. Consists of striated muscle fibres. Under conscious control (somatic nervous system).

Smooth Involuntary

The muscle found within our organs i.e stomach and arteries. Has a smooth appearance. Under unconscious control (autonomic nervous system).