Bone classification

To help us identify bones they have been classified according to their shape. There are five bone classifications that all bones come under.

Long Bones

A long bone is a bone that is longer than its width, such as the femur, humerus, ulna, radius, tibia, fibula, metacarpals, metatarsals, and phalanges.


Short Bones

A short bone is bone that is wider than its length, such as the carpals and tarsals.


Flat Bones

A flat bone is bone that has a flat surface i.e the cranium, sternum, pelvis and scapula.


Irregular Bones

An irregular bone is a bone that has an irregular shape i.e the bones of the vertebrae and face.



A sesamoid is a bone that is seed shaped i.e the patella.


Now see if you can match up the correct bone classification with the correct description.

Join our Members Club

FREE Subscription to our Members Club newsletter - delivering motivational tips, advice and support for anyone aspiring to succeed in the health and fitness industry.